Most Runs in PSL | Highest Run Scorers in PSL History
Kamran Akmal. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Pakistan Super League has had batters of top quality since the very inception of the league. There have been several hard-hitting batsmen who have increased the interest of the fans through their various batting performances. As the sixth edition of the PSL is set to begin on February 20, 2021, let us take a look at the highest run-getters in the league’s history. 

Kamran Akmal from Peshawar Zalmi is leading the charts of the most runs in the league’s history. Having been a regular member of the Zalmi side since the inaugural season, Akmal has so far accumulated 1537 runs at an average of 29.00. His strike rate has been 138. Interestingly, he has smashed three of the total eight centuries that have been seen in the league since its inception. No other player has even scored two centuries so far. 

Kamran Akmal’s record might be broken by the current Pakistan captain. Babar Azam is just short of Akmal’s tally by 21 runs. It can be expected that the two players will at some point think of edging each other. Playing for Karachi Kings, Babar has scored 1516 runs at an average of 37.90. 

Considering the fact that Babar has several years of cricket left before him while Akmal is 39, it is safe to assume that the former will eventually take home the title for being the leading run-getter in the league’s history. 

Among the overseas players, former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson is the leading run-getter. He scored 1361 runs at an average of 32.40. He represented Islamabad United in the first two seasons of the league before moving to Quetta Gladiators for the next three seasons. 

He has now retired from all forms of cricket, a decision which he took after the IPL 2020. There are other famous names such as Shoaib Malik, Luke Ronchi, Mohammad Hafeez who have their names in the list of highest run-getter in PSL. 

Most runs in PSL history

Kamran Akmal56551537107*29.00138.3439
Babar Azam474515167837.90117.97014
Shane Watson4646136191*32.40138.5909
Shoaib Malik484411276831.30122.6307
Ahmed Shehzad454310779926.26120.0609
Fakhar Zaman404010649426.60137.2907
Luke Ronchi3131102094*36.42166.12010
Mohammad Hafeez4845100298*25.69117.3306
Rilee Rossouw4037962100*34.35131.0613
Sarfaraz Ahmed524386856*28.00125.0703