Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Pakistan Super League


Previous Season was the debut season of the Pakistan Super League which was established by the Pakistan Cricket Board. The tournament featured five teams (Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators, Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars) and was held from 4th to 23rd February, 2016 in the United Arab Emirates.

The final was played in Dubai on 23rd February in which Islamabad United defeated Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets to win the First Title. Dwayne Smith of Islamabad United was awarded the Man of the Match award for his innings of 73 runs from 51 balls.

Scores were:







   174/7 (20 overs)                                                            175/4 (18.4 overs)


Ravi Bopara of Karachi Kings was named Player of the Tournament. Bopara scored 329 runs and took 11 wickets in the tournament.

Andre Russell of Islamabad United was the leading wicket-taker he took 16 wickets at an average of 17.25.

Umar Akmal of Lahore Qalandars was the leading run scorer with 335 runs at an average of 83.75 and also took the most catches in the tournament with 7 catches.

Standings were:

 Teams                             P   W   L   NR   Pts    NRR
 Peshawar Zalmi (3rd)              8   6   2   0    12    +0.573
 Quetta Gladiators (R-U)           8   6   2   0    12    +0.216
 Islamabad United (C)              8   4   4   0    8     -0.282
 Karachi Kings (4th)               8   2   6   0    4     -0.036
 Lahore Qalandars                  8   2   6   0    4     -0.536

Qualifier 1:
19th February Scorecard
Quetta Gladiators 133 (19.3 overs)
Peshawar Zalmi 132/9 (20 overs)
Quetta Gladiators won by 1 run.

20th February Scorecard
Karachi Kings 111/9 (20 overs)
Islamabad United 115/1 (14.2 overs)
Islamabad won by 9 wickets.

Qualifier 2:
21st February Scorecard
Islamabad United 176/3 (20 overs)
Peshawar Zalmi 126 (18 overs)
Islamabad won by 50 runs.
Sharjeel Khan scored the first ever century of PSL.

Pakistan Super League Final 2016:
23rd February Scorecard
Quetta Gladiators 174/7 (20 overs)
Ahmed Shehzad 64 (38)
Andre Russell 3/36 (4 overs)
Islamabad United 175/4 (18.4 overs)
Dwayne Smith 73 (51)
Nathan McCullum 1/25 (3 overs)
Islamabad won by 6 wickets
Player of the match: Dwayne Smith (Islamabad United)

Pakistan Super League Season 2

Pakistan Super League Season 2 was played in UAE from 9th February 2017 and the final match held on 7th March 2017.

PCB organized the Pakistan Super League Schedule (PSL schedule 2017) which includes a total of 24 T20 matches in 20 days.


Five teams participated in this PSL which represents the five big cities of Pakistan.

  • Islamabad United
  • Karachi Kings
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Quetta Gladiators


Peshawar Zalmi team was led by the great West Indies skipper Darren Sammy who won two T20 World Cups. Shahid Afridi steps down as Captain and handed over the captaincy to Sammy. Zalmi’s Owner Javed Afridi also likes him.

Islamabad United retains Misbah-ul-Haq as captain and in the Captaincy of Misbah ul Haq, United won the very 1st title of PSL in 2016.

Quetta Gladiators retains the aggressive captain Sarfraz Ahmad who took his team to the final in the previous edition of PSL.

Lahore Qalandars appointed new Captain the great Brendon McCullum who also captained NewZealand team during his career. Qalandars were bottom on the table in the last season due to lack of captaincy  that’s the reason they brought new experienced captain.

Karachi Kings new Captain will be Kumara Sangakkara. In PSL last season Kings Captain was Shoaib Malik who stepped down as captain due to team’s poor performance and in last matches team was captained by Ravi Bopara.


All the matches were scheduled to play at two venues, Dubai and Sharjah in UAE.

The Big Final was played in Lahore, Pakistan.

  • Dubai International Cricket Stadium, United Arab Emirates
  • Sharjah Cricket Stadium, United Arab Emirates
  • Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore


Every team gets to plays twice with other four teams in the group stage before the playoff stage to qualify for the finals. Top 4 teams will be qualified for the playoffs.

In the group stages, two points will be awarded for a win, one for a no result and none for a loss. In the event of tied scores after both teams have faced their quota of overs, a super over will be used to determine the match winner.

In the group stage teams will be ranked on the following criteria:

  1. Higher number of points
  2. If equal, higher number of wins
  3. If equal, least number of defeats
  4. If still equal, the results of head to head meetings
  5. If still equal, net run rate

Any playoff match finishes with no result, a super over will be used to determine the winner with a tied super over meaning that the team which finished higher in the league tables.


Final Result

Peshawar Zalmi 148 / 6 (20 OVERS)


Quetta Gladiators 90 / 10 (16.3 OVERS)

Peshawar Zalmi Won by 58 runs