Global T20 Canada Squads

Global T20 Canada Squads 2018 & Team Players


Global T20 Canada Squads
Global T20 Canada Squads

Global T20 Canada League all Teams & Players

The first ever edition of the Global T20 Canada will be held in June-July 2018 and many a famous overseas players will take part in the opening season of the competition. We have updated this piece with the latest Global T20 Canada squads for the first season of the tournament following the Draft that was held on June 3, 2018.

For this first season of this competition, the Global T20 Canada squads are expected to have a few marquee players from all around the world but the biggest attractions could be the two banned Aussie players, Steven Smith and David Warner. Smith and Warner were embroiled in a ball-tampering scandal and handed a 12-month suspension from Australian cricket but are allowed to feature in the T20 leagues around the world and they were both picked during the competition.

Among other players who are going to feature in the Global T20 Canada are the top T20 players like Dwayne Bravo, who recently played in the IPL-winning Chennai Super Kings squad, Shahid Afridi, who recently captained the World XI side in their game against the Windies XI, David Miller, Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga, Chris Lynn, Andre Russell and Darren Sammy.

Each of the six sides participating in the Global T20 Canada has been mandated to pick a minimum number of Canadian players including under-23 cricketers.

What’s interesting to note here is that there were a total of 1600 players who registered for the Draft including 600 from Canada itself.


Global T20 League 2018 Team & Players List

Global T20 Canada Squads 2018

Teams GT20 Canada 2018 Teams Squad players list
Toronto Nationals Darren Sammy, Steve Smith, Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Hussain Talat, Rumman Raees, Nikhil Dutta, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Naved Ahmed, Nizakat Khan, Farhan Malik, Nitish Kumar, Usama Mir, Rohan Mustafa, Mohammad Umair Ghani 

Head Coach: Phil Simmons

Vancouver Knights Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, Tim Southee, Chadwick Walton, Fawad Ahmed, Babar Hayat, Sheldon Cottrell, Saad Bin Zafar, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Srimantha Wijeratne, Kamau Leverock, Steven Jacobs, Salman Nazar, Rassie van der Dussen, Jeremy Gordon 

Head Coach: Donovan Miller

Winnipeg Hawks Dwayne Bravo, David Miller, David Warner, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Ben McDermott, Ali Khan, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddiqui, Tion Webster, Rizwan Cheema, Hiral Patel, Mark Deyal, Kyle Phillip 

Head Coach: Waqar Younis

Montreal Tigers Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, George Worker, Najibullah Zadran, Cecil Pervez, Ibrahim Khaleel, Dillon Heyliger, Nicholas Kirton, Rayyankhan Pathan 

Head Coach: Tom Moody

CWI Representative team Anthony Bramble (captain), Alick Athanaze, Brandon King, Derval Green, Fabian Allen, Jeremiah Louis, Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Obed Mcoy, Roland Cato, Shamar Springer, Sherfane Rutherford 

Head Coach: Phil Simmons

Edmonton Royals Shahid Afridi, Chris Lynn, Luke Ronchi, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Christiaan Jonker, Wayne Parnell, Asif Ali, Hasan Khan, Agha Salman, Shaiman Anwar, Ammar Khalid, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Ahmed Raza, Simon Pervez, Abraash Khan 

Head Coach: Mohammad Akram


Team News

Toronto Nationals have Darren Sammy and Kieron Pollard in their line-up but their biggest attraction will be the former Aussie captain Steven Smith, who returns to cricket after being away for three months. Kamran Akmal, Rumman Raees and Usama Mir are some of the Pakistani players in the line-up.

Vancouver Knights went for three Windies cricketers, to begin with, bringing in Chris Gayle, Andre Russell and Evin Lewis, setting up a very strong batting line-up. What do they have in their bowling then? Tim Southee is the only known face in the attack and he will hope for help from the Associates’ cricketers.

Montreal Tigers Their batting-heaviness is compensated by the focus on bowling from who have Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine and Thisara Perera in their line-up. If Mohammad Hafeez is allowed to bowl, he will add that to the squad, while Sandeep Lamichanne has already proved his mettle in the IPL.

Edmonton Royals Shahid Afridi could end up leading but even if he doesn’t, his presence will add a star value to the side. There’s Chris Lynn at the top of the order for them while Luke Ronchi can be expected to partner him, with Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir and Wayne Parnell expected to add bowling strength to the line-up.

Winnipeg Hawks have Dwayne Bravo and David Miller but David Warner will be the player to watch out after making his return from his cricket ban. Lendl Simmons and fellow Windies cricketer and Dwayne’s brother Darren will also be a part of this squad, while Fidel Edwards and Rayad Emrit form the bowling attack.