BBL Squads 2018/19

BBL Squads 2018/19

BBL Squads 2018/19
BBL Squads 2018/19

The latest Big Bash League squads for the 2018-2019 edition of the competition will be updated soon. The BBL which has already seven seasons of tough t20 competition and this eighth edition will only get more exciting.

Why so might one ask? That’s because this season of the BBL will be the first ever in the history of Big Bash League cricket to see each side will play with other seven teams on a home and away basis.

And that would mean each side plays 14 games in a rather longish tournament. This will also force the teams and their scouts to look for players for their Big Bash League squads who fit the bill and can play through this extended season.

The BBL which was a replacement for the previous T20 competition by the name of T20 Big Bash will see 56 league games played this year.

The top four teams on the points table at the end of the league stage will qualify for the semi-finals.

So far the BBL squads haven’t been announced but the teams which will participate in the tournament are Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Strikers, Perth Scorchers, Hobart Hurricanes, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

The Scorchers have won the BBL title thrice now and will be watched by the fans as the team to beat, having made it to the final on five occasions. The squads of Sydney Sixers, Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers have won the title once apiece as well.

Among other squads, the Hobart Hurricanes have made the final twice and lost on both occasions while the Stars squad has gotten to the final once before this.

There is a salary cap for all the Big Bash League squads and for every season this cap is decided by the CA beforehand.

The BBL teams usually have 18 players but a longer season this time could allow squads to pick up a couple more. More information on the BBL teams and the player list will be revealed closer to the start of the tournament.

BBL Squads for the Previous Season Below:

Adelaide Strikers squad
Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Jono Dean, Travis Head (c), Colin Ingram (South Africa), Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Michael Neser, Liam O’Connor, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Jake Weatherald, Jonathan Wells.

Brisbane Heat squad
Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Jason Floros, Cameron Gannon, Sam Heazlett, Shadab Khan (Pakistan), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum (c, New Zealand), Jimmy Peirson, Matt Renshaw, Alex Ross, Mitchell Swepson, Mark Steketee, Cameron Valente.

Hobart Hurricanes squad
George Bailey (c), Jofra Archer (West Indies), James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Hamish Kingston, Ben McDermott, Simon Milenko, Tymal Mills (England), David Moody, Tim Paine, Jake Reed, Sam Rainbird, Tom Rogers, Clive Rose, D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade.

Melbourne Renegades squad
Aaron Finch (c), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Tom Cooper, Marcus Harris, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Jon Holland, Tim Ludeman, Joe Mennie, Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), James Pattinson, Kieron Pollard (West Indies – replacement), Kane Richardson, Matt Short, Will Sutherland (rookie), Chris Tremain, Guy Walker, Beau Webster, Cameron White, Jack Wildermuth.

Melbourne Stars squad
Michael Beer, Scott Boland, Jackson Coleman, Ben Dunk, James Faulkner, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sam Harper, John Hastings (c), Ben Hilfenhaus, Glenn Maxwell, Kevin Pietersen (England), Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Dan Worrall, Luke Wright (England), Adam Zampa.

Perth Scorchers squad
Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Klinger, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Voges (c), Sam Whiteman, David Willey (England)

Sydney Sixers squad
Sean Abbott, Sam Billings (England), Jackson Bird, Johan Botha, Ben Dwarshuis, Mickey Edwards, Jack Edwards (rookie), Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Peter Nevill, Steve O’Keefe, Jason Roy (England), Jordan Silk, Mitchell Starc, Henry Thornton.

Sydney Thunder squad
Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Jos Buttler (England), Pat Cummins, Andrew Fekete, Callum Ferguson, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher (rookie), Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Clint McKay, Arjun Nair, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Gurinder Sandhu, Shane Watson.