Quetta Gladiators. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Peshawar Zalmi lost their previous encounter against Karachi Kings by a margin of six wickets. They suffered defeat in that game due to a sudden collapse of their heavy-duty top order that comprises of Tom Banton, Kamran Akmal and Haider Ali.

The trio was sent back to the pavilion within 10 runs and that turned out to be the main reason behind Zalmi’s defeat. The tournament has covered halfway and the play-offs are not very far away. Hence, Zalmi is expected to produce some amazing performances in the upcoming game against Quetta Gladiators.

Quetta Gladiators, the defending champions have suffered back to back defeats in a row. However, they are currently ranked on the third position in the league table but still, they will have to come out on winning ways as other teams have started taking a leap in the tournament. They have some big names in their ranks that will have a big responsibility in defending their champion title by giving their best shot in every respective department of the game.

Team Combinations

Peshawar Zalmi

Peshawar Zalmi is expected to go with Kamran Akmal and Tom Banton as their preferred openers. The former is in good form with the bat if we keep his previous couple of outings aside. Akmal has so far scored 177 runs in five games with a brilliant ton. Meanwhile, Tom Banton is still due to click a good knock with the bat. He has shown some glimpses of his good form. And, it will be big positive for Zalmi if he managed to pull off an amazing knock.

Shoaib Malik has finally arrived in his prime as he played a mesmerising knock of 68 runs in the previous encounter. He will look to continue in the game against Gladiators. Liam Livingstone and Lewis Gregory will have a role to smoke some good runs from lower-middle order. On the other hand, their bowling looks settled with the likes of Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz and Carlos Braithwaite. And there is nothing much to tinker in the same.

Quetta Gladiators

Shane Watson and Jason Roy will be going to open the innings for Gladiators followed by Ahsan Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed in the middle order. But, their middle order is not in the best of their form that has been the biggest headache for the team management.

In the lower order, Ben Cutting looks influential with the bat, who muscled his first fifty in PSL 2020 in the previous game. Azam Khan is also expected to come out all guns blazing that might turn the tables for his team in the next clash.

In the bowling line up, Naseem Shah and Mohammad Hasnain are quick and creating problems for the batsmen. But, they are lacking in consistency due to which they are giving away runs on a high strike rate. If they got control over the same then the opponents will surely make a mistake in search of some runs.

On the other hand, Mohammad Nawaz and Fawad Ahmed will lead the spin bowling department that will play a crucial role over the spin-friendly wicket of the next clash.

The focus will be on

Kamran Akmal (Peshawar Zalmi)

Kamran Akmal, the right-hander is currently the leading run-scorer for his team. It is known that his previous couple of games have not gone well. But, on his good days, he can single-handedly win the games on the back of his brilliant batting. He has so far scored 177 runs in five-game at a strike rate of 165.42. His performance will surely play a crucial role in the upcoming clash of Peshawar Zalmi.

Jason Roy (Quetta Gladiators)

Jason Roy, the England international is in great form, who is playing really well as an opener in the fifth edition of PSL. He has so far muscled 182 runs in six games with the help of two half-centuries. He has earned a reputation of top-rated batsmen across the globe in the shorter format. In the next game against Peshawar Zalmi, his team will expect him to pull off a breakthrough knock to bring his team back on the winning track.

Head to Head

Matches played – 15 | Quetta Gladiators won– 8 | Peshawar Zalmi won – 6 | NR – 1

Stat Attack

182 – Jason Roy is the leading run-scorer for Quetta Gladiators in PSL 2020

10 – Muhammad Hasnain is the leading wicket-taker in PSL 2020

Broadcast Details

TV – DSport

Live Streaming – Cricketgateway.com

Match Timings – 7:30 PM IST and 3:00 PM GMT